Amma’s dry chicken curry

January 7, 2008

amma1.jpg

Saturday afternoon was spent in the kitchen cooking up a Sri Lankan storm for 6 dinner guests and ourselves. Happily, Friday evening’s wanderings around the Indian part of town garnered all the ingredients I needed, including fresh curry leaves, spices, coffee accompaniments from Royal Sweet and a few extra goodies. On the menu were pappadums, roti pratha/canai, carrot raita, tomato chutney, steamed white rice, and my attempt at my grandmother’s legendary dry chicken curry. Add great company (and lots of ski talk!) for a wonderful evening.

My Grandmother Amma is in the photo above from the 1920’s, in her Girl Guide uniform. In the photo below from the 40’s, she is carrying my dad and looking much more like the Amma I knew, loving, dignified and always neatly dressed in a white cotton sari. I like the top photo so much more, as it gives me a sneak view of the girl she had been.. and I never knew.

Do let me know if you try the recipe out!

Amma’s Dry Chicken Curry

A Main Ingredients

½ a chicken chopped into bite sizes
6 shallots, sliced
1 red onion, sliced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 thumb ginger, minced
2 medium sized potatoes, in ½ inch cubes
3 tbsp cooking oil
½ cup water
½ tbsp tumeric powder
3 tbsp curry powder for meat
salt to taste

B The Spices

2 inches cinnamon sticks
6 petals star aniseed
4 cloves
4 cardomom pods
1 tsp cumin seeds
1 tsp mustard seeds
2 sprigs curry leaves

Saute the spices in oil till fragrant, add chopped shallots, garlic and ginger. Slide the drained chicken pieces in and fry till slightly browned, stirring gently. Sprinkle the golden tumeric powder and mix into chicken. Fry for 1 – 2 mins.

Add water, potatoes, red onion and curry powder and simmer till chicken is tender and the potatoes not too mushy. Add more water if necessary and simmer till chicken is cooked. Add salt last so that the chicken does not get tough. Let the cooking continue till the curry is dry, but sticky.

Serve with steamed white rice.

amma2.jpg

3 Responses to “Amma’s dry chicken curry”

  1. Tulipgirl Says:

    now where have I seen this picture and recipe before…? 🙂 A family classic I believe. I’m afraid it’s a bit lost on me but I’m sure that to the less fussy it tastes divine.

  2. Jean Says:

    So how did the dinner go? Everything turned out yummy?

  3. sunburn Says:

    so yummy. and the leftovers were even better!

Leave a Reply

