kingdom of air

February 18, 2008

venice

LA seems to be doing its best to make me love it. On my first three days, temperatures reached a delicious 28C, and tall skinny palms stretched as far as they could up into a bright blue sky. I even got to dip my toes into the Pacific at Venice Beach. The water was icy cold!

It then cooled a fair bit, which was alright as work had started and I had to be inside all day. Someone (quite possibly the front desk clerk) was still smiling down at me though. When I checked in I asked for a room with a view and was given one on the 11th floor. From then on, I read, slept and woke in mid-air. The floor-to-ceiling windows framed Downtown LA with a backdrop of snow-capped mountains while yellow and red head- and tail lights flowed past on the freeway.

downtown

Leave a Reply

