earth, wind and fire

February 27, 2008

engine.jpg

The elements have been making themselves very much felt the last few days. Most excitingly, while I was reading just before going to bed last night, I experienced an earthquake! The room and house I was in rumbled and shook for about 10 seconds. Nothing more serious than that, and nothing fell on top of me, so a very innocuous way to experience the earth moving under my feet. More than anything, I was just puzzled for a good few minutes before deciding on what had just happened. This morning’s news (and the office chatter) confirmed Britain’s strongest quake for 25 years measuring 5.2 on the Richter scale, with its epicenter just 70 km away.

Apart from that I have been getting reacquainted with the wind, we’ve been missing each other since I left the Lowlands. The Peak District is visible from where I am working this week, and I suspect the gusts that catch me every time I turn a corner must continuously be rolling down from there.

Finally, last night for the second time in a month I ate at a converted fire station. The first, pictured above, had many of its original structural details from 1912 still intact, including a pressed tin roof and green glazed Italian tiles that came back to the US as ballast on empty ships. Last night’s restaurant had a more cryptic name, and despite being less ornate had lots of warm-looking exposed red brick. They also get top marks for hosting quirky events including jumble sales, knitting evenings and on-the-spot haircuts to accompany your pint. And why not.

4 Responses to “earth, wind and fire”

  1. Bobby the Preacher Says:

    Oo aye.

  2. Notablogger Says:

    Still jealous of your earthquake experience. Nothing earth shaking here… will have to live vicariously!

  3. Tulipgirl Says:

    No fair: I actually live here and didn’t feel a thing, you come to visit and get all the exciting stuff! 🙂

  4. sunburn Says:

    sorry! i feel the need to apologize… as i said it was so unexpected it took me a while to figure out what had just happened. i promise i didn’t organize it all!

Leave a Reply

