the orphanage

April 17, 2008

A trail of coincidences led us to this film last night, with an impromptu but delicious homemade dinner on the way. I had read this review previously and looking at the cinema programme on Sunday night the title rang a bell. Before we knew it our little party of five was tucking into a comfort meal of a cheesy french dish, with chocolate ice cream with a kumquat sauce and port wine for afters. All conjured almost out of thin air!

The review I had read didn’t quite square with the film poster or trailers we saw online. As it turned out the film was proper jump-out-of-your-skin scary to rival Hitchcock, in staging, suspense, cinematography and music. The plot: Laura decides to move back to and bring to life again the abandoned orphanage she herself grew up in, with her own adopted son and husband. To say anything more would already be too much, but the story is well written, with a good twist at the end (and a couple in the middle too).

If I weren’t such a chicken when it comes to horror movies I would have said I’d enjoyed it. I’m just glad I managed to get to sleep last night, and I’m still glad I saw it. Which means, if you’re a fan of thrillers, definitely go!

Leave a Reply

