calatrava strikes again

May 27, 2008

A friend’s visit to Valencia made me look up one of its sonss, and one of my very favourite architects, Santiago Calatrava, to see what he is up to these days. Mr. Snow and I had discovered him by accident when we chanced upon his soaring bridge in Bilbao. I’d never seen nor walked on anything quite like it before and became a fan immediately. After that, his work seemed to pop up all over places I happened to be, like Seville, Lisbon and even in cosmopolitan and trendy Haarlemmermeer!

I’d heard he was designing the new World Trade Centre Tansportation Hub, but an astonishing structure caught my eye: the new high-speed train station for Liege in Belgium. The critics are already up in arms about how the station doesn’t fit into its surroundings, but I can’t wait to see it for myself once it’s open at the end of this year. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

