a concise chinese-english dictionary for lovers

July 7, 2008

Another book from last year’s Orange Prize shortlist, this time by Xiaolu Guo. I read this one in a flash, due in part to the deliberately simplistic language used by the narrator, newly arrived in London from China. It has been a long time since a book has irritated me this much. The broken language did not ring true to my ear, suffice to say this conceit did not work for me.

Thankfully the heroine’s language does improve, and with it the book and its love story, if rather marginally. There are occasional glimpses of beauty and sadness expressed with great honesty and candour. But to the end I remained unconvinced, a pity.

Uncommonly for me I have started two new books, both of which have already completely sucked me in from the first few pages. I promise, no more book grumpiness when I come to review those!

2 Responses to “a concise chinese-english dictionary for lovers”

  1. Notablogger Says:

    I’ve had the same experience – two more or unles unreadable books. Haven’t posted about them, but might really enjoy the free rant! Remember, there’s always Harry Potter (tee hee hee).

  2. sunburn Says:

    ranting is good! makes me think more as well. looking forward to them!

Leave a Reply

