call of the mall

November 4, 2008

I know, shopping is so out, isn’t it? But those of you who know me will also know that I fall for a particular kind of design in marketing with the same certainty as the sun will rise tomorrow. The composite image above (and especially that of the birds on the branch wine bottles) illustrates that design particularly well. No matter what the object actually is, I’ll pick it off the shelf in a split second. But luckily these days, looking is enough for me. That, and the overpowering sense of all the things that we have at home.

Paco Underhill’s catchily titled ‘Why We Buy‘ and ‘Call of the Mall‘ seek to understand the dynamics of the product moving off the shelf into my hand better, though I haven’t read either. It might help me build my barriers better.

2 Responses to “call of the mall”

  1. Tulipgirl Says:

    Do you have any idea what those cutesy looking things on the top of the pictureare? I want those! Love the owl design.

  2. sunburn Says:

    ah, good, so it’s not just me who falls for it then? but agreed, very cute! no idea what it is though, and the article didn’t help. eye candy 🙂

Leave a Reply

